Navigating worlds - The Hub

The Hub is your main menu for navigating between worlds, From here you can browse through patches made by PatchXR as well as patches made by other users. You can use the joystick on your controller to scroll through the view. On the left, you will see three tabs. Aim the laser pointer on them and click the trigger button to change the main view. If it happens that you don’t see the Hub in front of you, you can reset the world view by holding the oculus button on your right controller for 5 seconds.

The main three tabs are:

Explore

Find the latest featured content by the Patch team, top patchers, and creators.

My Worlds

Access and manage your worlds, worlds you visited, and edit your profile.

Learn

A suite of interactive lessons and example patches that can teach you everything from the basics of the app to complex patching, world-building, and music.

Other parts of the Hub:

Main view

The middle section is where you can explore the content nested in one of the tabs on the left. Use the joystick or hold the trigger button and move up/down/left/right to scroll and find more content.

World Info Page

You can open a patch from the Hub by aiming at its thumbnail and pressing the trigger button on the controller. This will open the info page for the selected patch. From here you can press the ‘Play’ button. This will load and open the patch.
Keep in mind pressing the ‘Play’ button will initiate the downloading process if it is a patch from another user (i.e. from PatchXR) and it is being opened for the first time. It could also trigger the update process (if it was modified by the author since it was downloaded last time).

What you can see on the info page:

  • A background image for the world
  • The world name
  • The worlds description

Features:

  • Play - downloads and opens the world
  • Continue - starts the world in the same condition as how you left (same as if loading an autosave)
  • Reset - plays the world from when it was last saved
  • Edit - opens the world in edit mode ⁠ (not all worlds are accessible in build mode)

Features that are available only on worlds created or edited by you:

  • Publish/un-publish - Puts/removes this world on your public profile (and the cloud storage linked to your profile)
  • Remove - Removes the world from your device and profile
  • Edit world name - click on the world name to edit it
  • Edit world description - click on the description to edit it

You can open a patch from the Hub by aiming at it’s thumbnail and by pressing the trigger button on the controller. This will open the Project view for the selected patch. From here you can press the ‘Play’ button. This will load and open the patch.
Keep in mind pressing the ‘Play’ button will initiate the downloading process if it is a patch from another user (i.e. from PatchXR) and it is being opened for the first time. It could also trigger the update process (if it was modified by the author since it was downloaded last time).

In the bottom left corner of the hub you can see your current version of the application.

1 Like